Photoplay Talk

The Hugh Jackman Show (aka The Oscars)

Posted in Commentary by Tom Macy on February 28, 2009

When Hugh Jackman, otherwise known as the ideal man, finished his dynamite standing-ovation-inducing opening number you had the feeling there was no where they could go but down.  But let’s not worry about that for now. What an opening!  Jackman, a legitimate triple threat, took the audience by storm using his exceptional talents to turn the traditional opening ditty recapping the nominated films into a showstopper.  So well conceived, from the glittery “cost cutting” cardboard sets to the interpretive dance representing the “The Reader” to his final triumphant declaration a top the ropes of a wrestling ring a la Mickey Rourke “I’m Wolerveriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine!” it was the most entertaining Oscar moment in my recent memory.  Bravo sir.  I wonder if he just wanted to announce Best Picture and call it a night right there, I wouldn’t have mined.

I remember saying right after it was over, well it’s all down hill from here.  I felt little bad for being so pessimistic, but I was right.  The newfound excitement was immediately undone by the self-serious, self -congratulatory tone we’ve become accustomed to.  Most notably in the new format used to present acting honors.  Instead of having the previous winner present the award, five past winners came out and each individually introduced a nominee providing a brief bio and praise.  Not a bad idea, but many of the presenters seemed unprepared with nothing particularly insightful to say, and the odd image of five men or women regally posed in formation looked more like the induction of some freaky cult minus the black hooded robes.

When it came time for another production number, dedicated to the movie musical, Jackman was now accompanied by the one Beyonce and it sadly was not nearly as memorable.  With far too many references the overly ambitious piece was often incomprehensible.  Hmmmm, do you think that had anything do with Baz Lurhman being the director? (Rip alert)  Would people just get over this guy.   I loved, loved Moulin Rouge! (despite having an exclamation point in the title).  But what has he done since?  A bunch of Chanel commercials that were embarrassingly self-important, not mention expensive, it cost like $40 million, (he also insists they be referred to as films, please), a Broadway show that by all accounts was atrocious, and “Australia,” a movie even I didn’t see this year because by all accounts it was so brutal (I have friend who walked out).  So why, oh why did they let him in the room when planning this years Oscars?  I picture him tip-toeing around in Groucho Marx glasses.

The rest of the show was fine, boring, overlong, but fine, it just didn’t live up to the first 8 minutes.   In terms of the actual awards there were few surprises.  Probably the biggest, or the most high profile, was Sean Penn taking home best actor.  I’ve been saying all along how much I hoped he’d win because Mickey Rourke wasn’t that great in “The Wrestler.”  Of course the second they said Sean Penn I immediately felt bad for Mickey.  I am such a pushover.  That must be tough when everyone expects you to win and then you don’t.  Then it must really feel like you lost.  I mean, he had to sit there for 4 freaking hours thinking he was going to hear his name called.  I feel for ya Mickey.  At least he didn’t storm out like Eddie Murphy did in 2006.

Another surprise winner I was particularly happy about was “La Maison en petits cubes” picking up best animated short!  Yay!  Why am I the only one clapping?  The film was one of two surprise wins for Japanese films whose acceptance speeches ran headfirst into the language barrier.  The second, “Departures” for foreign film, was probably the biggest shocker of the night.  I don’t know anyone who wasn’t picking “Waltz With Bashir” or “The Class.”  I have a hard time believing “Departures” is better than those two but if it is, hats off.  Who knows, maybe it’s another “The Lives of Others.”  When that beat out heavily favored “Pan’s Labyrinth” back in ’06 people, including me, were aghast.  But upon actually seeing the film everyone loved it, and if not for the Oscar it never would’ve gotten an audience.  So I’ll give “Departures” the benefit of the doubt.  If it ever gets released.

I hope Hugh’s back next year.  The ratings were up (not hard to do since the previous year was the worst ever) and he managed to shake off, however briefly, some of the staleness that has taken hold of the ceremony.  It’ll be interesting to see if this bumps ticket sales for his summer tent-pole “Wolverine.”  I know I’m a little more excited.  Here’s a formulaic trailer with an intense choral soundtrack.  Also check out the opening number that I’ve built up so much there’s no way it can live up to the hype (I hate when people do that, “Slumdog Millionaire”).  Until next year…..

Leave a comment